More Guns, Less Crime

Don Kates is looking into European History:

Remarkably good homicide data is available for England, beginning in the 1200’s. Those data indicate a pre-gun homicide rate in England of roughly 20 per 100,000 [roughly four times greater than the U.S. today]

Firearms were introduced into England in the 1400’s and were in wide use by the 1500’s, coincident with a decline in the homicide rate to 15 per 100K.

RTWT. I would have never guessed that England kept detailed homicide data. That’s pretty amazing. There’s no doubt that pre-firearms societies were more brutal and violent than today. Back then, soldiering was an art form, and those not practiced in it couldn’t stand up to those who were. The firearm changed all that.

There is No Answer

The Inquirer is running an article on how difficult it is to spot workplace shooters, because 99.99% of people will never become workplace shooters. It’s actually not a bad article, and even acknowledges that there are legit reasons an employee might have a firearm in their vehicle, noting “Spotting a weapon in a company parking lot might not tell you much. There are many parts of the country, including Pennsylvania, where it is common for workers to stash a rifle in a pickup truck for deer hunting.” I’m glad workplace consultants are recognizing this.

The fact is, if someone is so unbalanced that they are willing to commit murder, there is no HR policy that’s going to make people safe.

Gun and Garden Denying NRA Ads?

I have no patience for people who enjoy rights that they leave to others to defend and promote, and this would seem to be the demographic “Gun and Garden” magazine is aiming for. I have no issue with the magazine not accepting political ads, but NRA does more than just politics. When I contacted someone at NRA to inquire about the nature of the ad, I was told it was an “NRA Give” ad, which solicits funds for the Foundation. The NRA Foundation funds educational and shooting sport programs and not political activity. For a gun magazine, even a lifestyle magazine, this should not be controversial. There are more ways to contribute to this issue than just politics, and it’s appalling to me that Gun and Garden doesn’t seem to want to give the time to day to those efforts either.

Gun Owners Challenge Lentz

Lentz was pushing his bill in Upper Darby, but ran into a good bit of opposition from gun owners.

In her testimony, Lt. Lisa King, commander of the Philadelphia Police gun-permit unit, said that there is no way to tell if those 3,100 have been denied a permit in Pennsylvania because Florida will not provide police with their names.

“I fundamentally have a problem, that Pennsylvania allows another state to dictate who can carry a concealed-carry permit here and not tell us the names,” said state Rep. Josh Shapiro, D-Montgomery. “Whether you’re in the NRA or CeaseFire PA . . . we would all be better suited having Pennsylvania laws govern [here].”

So is Shapiro really coming out against reciprocity here? Because I can’t think of anything that’s going to piss us off more than that. I am one of the 3100 people, and I also have a PA LTC. I suspect that’s the case with the vast majority of this small number of people. As I said previously, if Philadelphia wants to have us push to remove all of its discretion in LTC issuance, it can feel free to push the Lentz bill. Otherwise we’re going to make the criteria completely objective, so that we can be sure that there is no room for the city to deny or revoke permits based on bogus criteria.

I am very glad Florida won’t turn over the names. I can guarantee they’ll appear in the Inquirer or Daily News if that happens. PA LTC’s are private, and there’s no reason to expect less from the State of Florida.

Congratulations Australia

After reading more than a few media sources in Australia use the term, I would like to congratulate our shooting friends down under for officially becoming a “gun lobby.” Welcome to the club. This means you’re getting somewhere. When they use terms like “powerful gun lobby” it means you’re really getting somewhere.

The Attraction of Reality TV

Before the Top Shot series, neither Bitter and I were watchers of reality TV. I don’t expect that to change, despite the fact that we both enjoy the show. But I understand better now what people like about reality TV. I think people can like it for different reasons, which is probably why the genre has been so successful. On one level, people can like it because people like heros and villains. Because everyone can choose different heros and villains, it provides people with something else humans enjoy doing: gossiping. On another level, people seem to enjoy living vicariously through their favoriate characters, as they struggle through the series. The level I think Bitter and I like it on is that it’s a pretty interesting social game, and the shooting aspect of Top Shot just provides a context we can more easily relate to and understand, more so than a series like Survivor would.

The problem with social games is they tend to be a little underhanded and dirty. Politics is really the great social game, and this is certainly true about politics. This also feeds the hero/villain aspect that many people find attractive. I’ve never been able to work up the same kind of animosity towards Adam Benson that a lot of other people did. He was merely playing what he thought would be a winning strategy. It got him far, but not to the end. His nemesis Caleb was also playing what he thought would be a winning strategy as well. Nothing wrong with that, I think, if you’re serious about winning.

So why are so many shooters upset with certain aspects of Top Shot? Probably because a lot of it violates our sense of good sportsmanship, and we’re used to thinking about shooting in that context. In a shooting competition we’d think someone behaving like Adam was a poor sport, and we’d expect that it would be the most highly skilled shooters that would come out on top. But Top Shot isn’t a shooting competition, but a social game — a political game — with guns. While I’ve no doubt many shooters would prefer to watch a pure shooting show, the variety of people Top Shot is appealing to is probably better for the movement, overall, than a shooting show not many people watch. As Caleb mentioned, “he didn’t call it an assault rifle, or a military rifle, or any of the terms you see the media slipping in to demonize these weapons.  What did he call it?  A semi-automatic sporting rifle.” And then people see the contestants use them in the same manner as any other rifle. You can’t pay for PR that good.

UPDATE: Maybe we can hope for a reality TV show one day that’s another type of social game. One that harkens back to an older, simpler time. Top Dueler?

Delaware Housing Authority Breaks under Lawsuit

Looks like they are relenting on the policy of banning firearms in public housing, but it’s not clear yet whether their new policy is going to be acceptable.

Among the things Pileggi said were objectionable in the draft regulations is a proposed ban on carrying weapons in “common areas” of WHA buildings. He said the rule appears aimed at preventing “someone from just hanging out” with a firearm and is an improper restriction of Second Amendment rights.

He also objected to a proposed requirement that anyone who has a gun in a WHA building be prepared to produce a permit showing he is allowed to carry it.

The solution would be to defer to state law on common areas. If you have a CDWL from the State of Delaware, or are otherwise carrying the firearm in compliance with state law (e.g. openly), you should be fine.

NYC Pulling Licenses of Disabled Cops

Bloomberg is a classy dude:

The suspensions were ordered, sources say, because the ex-cops had applied for or had received Social Security benefits involving a mental illness — a circumstance that would contradict what they told the NYPD to get their gun permits.

It looks like the cops are suffering from such things as Post Traumatic Stress Disorder, an issue that in no other state that I can think of is reason to bar someone their right to keep and bear arms, and certainly not federally. The issue of whether the claims are fraudulent aside, NYC should not be able to revoke someone’s rights at a whim.

And these are the kinds of reasonable gun laws that Mayor Mike and his merry band of Illegal Mayors want to bring to the rest of America.

LTC Price Issue Fixed (For Now)

Looks like all the area sheriffs who were overcharging for licenses have agreed to stop, and will issue the state mandated 25 dollar license. They will also keep issuing the plastic ones for a higher price, but it looks like that might change when the uniform standards are announced.

I’m asking the Snowflakes in Hell research division to find out for me any information we can report about the new standards that might be put in place, to see what changes it may portend for your average LTC holder. I will report when there’s more information.